Antiparasitic Veterinary Medicinal Products

On 13 February 2019 the HPRA’s Advisory Committee for Veterinary Medicines (ACVM) established a Task Force to review the method of supply of antiparasitic veterinary medicinal products that are intended for food-producing animals against the criteria set out in Directive 2006/130/EC. This includes products containing all classes of antiparasitic agents and including medicines containing coccidostats.

The membership of the Task Force is as follows:

J. Gabriel Beechinor, Theo DeWaal, Caroline Garvan, Orla Keane, Joe O’Flaherty, James O’Shaughnessy and Aidan Moody.

Members possess specialist expertise and competence relevant to the functions of the task force. They are independent in the performance of their duties and, in accordance with their mandate, they may not be subject to the direction of any other person or body in the performance of their duties.

The Task Force is expected to have a consultation with interested parties before finalising the report. The report is expected to be finalised before October 2019 and will then be considered by the ACVM and the Authority of the HPRA.

The terms of reference of the Task Force is available here. The classification criteria for veterinary medicinal products intended for use in food-producing animals that may be exempted from the requirement for a veterinary prescription is available here. Note that the criteria given in Article 34 of Regulation (EU) 2019/6 are essentially the same as those given in Directive 2006/130/EC.