The Authority

The Authority of the HPRA is appointed by the Minister for Health in accordance with the powers conferred by subsection 2 of section 7 of the Irish Medicines Board Act, 1995.

Member Profiles

Dr Joe Collins (MVB PhD CSci CBiol FRSB MRCVS CertEP CertVR) was appointed to the Board of the HPRA in September 2020.Dr Joe Collins, member of the Board of the HPRA

Joe graduated from the School of Veterinary Medicine, UCD in 1987. He has since worked in Ireland and the UK in private veterinary practice, in the pharmaceutical industry and in the university sector. Joe is currently Chief Veterinary Advisor (Europe) at The Donkey Sanctuary, a UK headquartered global NGO, a member of the Charity Board at the Irish Horse Welfare Trust (IHWT) and teaches on animal remedies and scientific animal protection (SAP) training courses in Ireland.

Joe has previously been President of Veterinary Ireland and FEEVA (the Federation of European Equine Veterinary Associations), and served on the National Committee for the Protection of Animals used for Scientific Purposes and the Veterinary Council of Ireland. Joe holds a PhD in equine welfare and is a Chartered Scientist, Chartered Biologist and Fellow of the Royal Society of Biologists. His main interests are in animal welfare and protection, veterinary medicines and professional standards.

Mr David Holohan (BCOMM, MBA, CDir, M.lnst.D, CMgr FCMI, Chartered FCSI) Mr D Holohanhas worked in the asset management industry across a range of roles, including Head of Research, Chief Investment Officer and fund manager. He currently works for Banca Mediolanum’s Irish Operations.

He was initially appointed to the Board of the HPRA by the Minister for Health in January 2016.

David holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree from University College Dublin and an MBA with merit from Imperial College London. David has completed the Corporate Director Program at Harvard Business School and he is also a Chartered Director (UK) and Member of the Institute of Directors (Ireland). David is also a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Institute for Securities & Investment (UK) and a Chartered Fellow of the Chartered Management Institute (UK). David is Chairman of the Governing Body of the Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Dun Laoghaire (IADT) and serves as non-executive Chairman of the charity, One in Four Ireland. He is a former Non-Executive Director of Ireland's National Oversight and Audit Commission (NOAC) and the Dublin City Childcare Committee (DCCC).

Mr Brian Jones was appointed to the Board of the HPRA by the Minister for Health in January 2016.Mr B Jones

Brian is Group CEO of the Partnership of East London Cooperatives, a not-for-profit Social Enterprise providing clinical services to 1.1 million patients in North East London. With experience of leading a multi-skilled clinical team, operating within a rapidly changing healthcare system, he has an understanding of working collegially with partners from across multi-agency stakeholders to deliver outstanding care to the populations they serve.

His experience has provided him with a deep understanding of clinical governance and risk, enabling his organisations to create environments in which excellence in clinical care can flourish.

Prior to his most recent role, Brian spent seven years within public health.

Dr Elizabeth Keane - MB, MPH, FFPHMI. A consultant in Public Health Medicine, Dr KeaneDr Keane is Adjunct Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health in the School of Public Health in UCC.

Dr Keane worked in hospital medicine for 5 years prior to undertaking a Masters in Public Health in UCD and completed Higher Specialist Training in Public Health Medicine in 1989. She was appointed the first Director of Public Health for Cork and Kerry in 1995.

Dr Keane was Dean of the Faculty of Public Health Medicine of the RCPI from 2014 to 2017.  In addition, Dr Keane is an Examiner for the Membership Examinations. She is a former Chair of both the National Cancer Registry Board and the Board of the National Disease Surveillance Centre (now HPSC). She has also served on the boards of the Irish Blood Transfusion Service and the Interim Health Information and Quality Authority.

Dr Keane’s main areas of interest include health status epidemiology, health protection, the public health aspects of blood borne viruses and international health regulations.


Dr Diarmuid Quinlan - MB, BCh, BAO, BSc (Hons), MICGP, MRCGP, Masters in Medical Law &Dr Quinlan Ethics (merit), DCH, DFFP, Dip Practical Dermatology (distinction).

Dr. Quinlan works as a GP in Glanmire, Co. Cork. He is a graduate of UCC, completed specialist training in General Practice in Kent, England and then worked in Australia prior to returning to Cork. He is a director of Diabetes in General Practice, a diabetes charity. He is the National Clinical Lead for Diabetes in Primary Care. He is on the Cork committee of the Southdoc out-of-hours service. He is a clinical risk advisor in primary care, with the Medical Protection Society. He won the ICGP  Quality in Practice award in 2013 and 2018. He is an undergraduate tutor in UCC and an online dermatology tutor for Cardiff University, Wales. He is a medical columnist for a number of publications.

Professor Richard Reilly is Professor of Neural Engineering at Trinity College, Prof R ReillyThe University of Dublin. This post is a joint position between the School of Medicine and School of Engineering. He a Principal Investigator of the Trinity Centre for Biomedical Engineering (TCBE) and also a Principal Investigator at the Trinity College Institute of Neuroscience (TCIN). His research interests are in clinical neural engineering based on signal processing of electrophysiological, neuroimaging and bioacoustic data for the development of quantitative methods to understand neural function and the underlying pathophysiology of sensory and cognitive processing.

He is a member of the Royal Irish Academy and Fellow of the European Alliance for Medical and Biological Engineering & Science and Fellow of the Royal Academy of Medicine in Ireland. He was awarded the Haughton Medal from the Royal Academy of Medicine of Ireland in 2013. In 2004 he was awarded a US Fulbright Award for research collaboration into multisensory integration with the Nathan Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research, New York.  Professor Reilly received his BE degree in Electronic Engineering, a MEngSc and a PhD in Biomedical Engineering from University College Dublin.